Blog on the Bus pt 5 (the ultimate question)

Good morning all. You join me here on this cold and drizzly morning waiting for the answer to life’s ultimate question: will the bus be on time today?
I tend to pre-empt the kind of week I’m due to experience based on the number-4’s Monday morning punctuality, like a twisted astrologer. A quick word to other Virgos out there: it’s not looking good with 2mins to go.
What is the point of all this drivel, I hear you ask…
Well go on then, ask…
That’s better. The point of what I am saying is that we shouldn’t judge a book by its cover (tenuous I know but stay with me). In the same way that I rely on the bus’ inability to stick to its published schedule to predict the quality of the coming week, so we all do when selecting our next great read. As an independently (and therefore unknown author) I am duty-bound to hope that the next potential reader will not feel physically sick when they cop an eyeful of my latest design. But what if they don’t like it? What if they are allergic to the colour black, should that really be relied upon as a useful critique of the work beneath the glossy cover? Of course not. Don’t be ridiculous!
So, dear reader, my challenge to you today is to stop looking for portents to determine the future or your next book choice. Keep an open mind and make the brave decision to select an indie author the next time your eyes require a literary massage.
By the way Virgos, the bus was on time so maybe, just maybe, it’ll be a good week.
Until next time, happy reading!

Leave a Reply

