Blog on the Bus pt 17 (soothsaying)

Good evening traveller. The number-1 bus (staying at the in-laws tonight in a different part of Southampton) is a touch quiet this late afternoon (most sensible buggers booked NYE off – God knows why i didn’t). So it’s just the 2 of us (forgive me for bursting into song).
Around this time each year, some will declare their decision to change their attitude to life. They will proudly declare “this year I will give / take up [insert comment here].” These buffoons know before a single syllable has departed their lips that there is a 99% chance they will fail to maintain this new life choice and will continue where they left off the previous year. Now I’m not one to believe in statistics (73.4% of all statistics are made up anyway, apparently) but I know from personal experience that this one is true.
For me 2012 was a year with plenty of highlights (check out my Christmas Blog for a full list) but it has also been a year of great personal heartache for me and my family. Things are not likely to improve for some time yet on that front too. So I won’t be making any radical promises this January. I don’t smoke or do drugs (apart from the occasional junior disprol) and whilst I do enjoy a glass of Cabernet Shiraz from time to time (all writers need booze to be creative – it’s a fact!), I don’t think I’ve reached that point where I’m pouring vodka on my corn flakes just yet, so you won’t see resolutions from me.
I will make you this one promise: I am not gonna let the buggers grind me down! I am going to release my next novel (working title is Dead Drop) and I am going to strive to live my life to the full. It’s not a resolution, it’s a fact! There is so much pain and hurt in this world that if you choose to dwell on it, it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy. When Big Ben strikes for the final time this night, stand tall and declare ‘Thank God that year’s over!’ I know I will be.

Thank you for all your support in 2012. Until next year, happy reading (pass me a tissue driver)

Stephen

Leave a Reply

