Blog on the Bus pt 28 (a rest is as good as a change?)

Welcome back to the ‘X4’, Southampton’s premier bus service (they should be paying me commission!) I trust you are well? It’s been a couple of weeks since the last blog, I didn’t lose my hands in a tragic boating accident as some of you feared, but I have been away from the city. I’ve spent the last week in Brixham in Devon relaxing (although if the taxman asks, I was scouting locations for the setting of my next masterpiece).

It was a lovely rest and whilst I had hoped to plough on with Dead Drop, I was having too much fun with the family to write. I did manage to do typing one morning but only because I had woken at a silly time. Still, I’m 53k words in, so have finally crossed the halfway margin. It’s funny, this has been the most difficult project to complete to date, not because of the subject matter but because I’ve had so much else going on. I usually try to complete a first draft inside 3months but I’ve had to give myself till the end of April to finish (hence June as date of publication).

I have every intention of focusing on my writing over the coming weeks and will keep you posted on progress as I do.

I always try to make these blogs light-hearted or inspirational for other aspiring-authors out there who dare to dream that one day they’ll see their name in print. With that in mind here is a thought for the day:

A writer died and was given the option of going to heaven or hell.

She decided to check out each place first. As the writer descended into the fiery pits, she saw row upon row of writers chained to their desks in a steaming sweatshop. As they worked, they were repeatedly whipped with thorny lashes.

“Oh my,” said the writer. “Let me see heaven now.”

A few moments later, as she ascended into heaven, she saw rows of writers, chained to their desks in a steaming sweatshop. As they worked, they, too, were whipped with thorny lashes.

“Wait a minute,” said the writer. “This is just as bad as hell!”

“Oh no, it’s not,” replied an unseen voice. “Here, your work gets published.”

On that merry note I bid you adieu and hope to catch you next time on the bus. Until next time, happy reading,

Stephen

Buy Books here

a great blog sharing my work

Leave a Reply

