Blog on the Bus pt 45 (the point of it all)

Before you judge a blog by its title, and start to presume that today’s entry in the “World’s Greatest Blog”* will be a maudlin tale about the woes of the would-be writer, think again. Stick with it and you may just be surprised.

(*the “World’s Greatest Blog 2013” was created, entered and voted for by me alone. All other blogs were in-eligible)

Those fathers among you will have recognised the significance of yesterday as that one (and only) day in the calendar when the alpha-male of the pack is permitted to put his feet up and allow his kids to fuss over him on hand and foot. Of course, if like me, your kids are too young to boil a kettle or have four legs, and you aren’t allowed to wear the trousers in your house, then you were probably brow-beaten with phrases like “it’s not a real day”, “you’re on your arse the other 364 days of the year, so what makes this one different?” or my personal favourite “the decision’s been made so suck it up!”

I am lucky enough to have a wife who knows my mind better than I do.

That’s right!

There was me thinking I wanted the day to start with breakfast in bed, the dog walked by someone else, followed by a day of testing my footballing-know-how against the likes of Mourinho on the game ‘Football Manager’, all served up with cider and chips and a night of Confederations Cup on the telly.

Silly me.

Little did I know that, actually, I wanted to walk the dog myself, make my own breakfast and then spend the day with my wife, daughter and in-laws walking around Longleat Safari Park.

Luckily, my wife had seen the error of my ways.

I appreciate that I’m probably sounding like a bit of a dick at the moment and despite my initial reservations about how the day was to progress, I genuinely enjoyed it and wouldn’t have changed it for anything. Seeing my amazing daughter learning and exploring, interacting with the hippos, elephants, sealions, and feeding the giraffes, was wonderful. Sharing jokes and memories with my loving in-laws and their gorgeous daughter was priceless.

It made me realise just how lucky I am to have such a great family and it was this thought, as I settled down in front of the telly with a McDonald’s burger and fries, that reminded me of why I continue to pursue this writing adventure that I started nearly three years ago. In fact it was exactly three years ago that our holiday villa was burgled while we were in Spain, which ultimately led to the idea for Integration.

All the hours spent reading, researching, plotting, thinking, writing, editing, rewriting, formatting, publishing, promoting and ignoring the critics and haters is for a reason. Whilst these stories are in me and need to be shared, the reason I continue to chase it, in the face of adversity, is to make a better life for my daughter: a world where she too is brave enough to follow her dreams.

To all the fathers out there, I say, remember how special your children are and cherish the time you have with them.

To all the mothers out there, I say, thanks for putting up with us lazy fathers.

To my amazing daughter, I say, it’s all for you!

Until the next time, happy reading!

Stephen

Stephen is the author of Integration, Remorse, Redemption, Snatched and the forthcoming Shadow Line. Find his work here or via stephenedger.com)

One response to “Blog on the Bus pt 45 (the point of it all)

Leave a Reply

