Blog on the Bus pt 46 (branching out)

To my regular followers, the Blog on the Bus represents an insight into the mind of an up-and-coming author. I should point out, that like all competitive entrepreneurs, I have a tendency to blow my own trumpet (in the metaphorical way, you understand – all my ribs are in place!) I try, where possible, to share what goes on in my day to day thoughts and how all my thoughts, dreams and wishes return to the same thing: writing.

In that way I thought I should share an insight into what I observed during a manic visit to the emporium-also-known-as Peppa Pig World.

For the uninitiated non-parents, Peppa Pig World is Britain’s answer to Disney Land. It houses rides for children including Grandpa Pig’s Train, Daddy Pig’s Car and Miss Rabbit’s helicopters. If you’ve never been to Peppa Pig World then I’ll leave it to your imagination as to what these rides might look like.

As with all successful / popular shows these days, there is various Peppa Pig themed merchandise available in the park’s shop and online. They sell t-shirts, aprons, hats, socks, teddies, toys and much more. Peppa Pig toothbrush anybody?

What I noticed, while whisking my two year-old daughter swiftly through the shop, before she could pick anything up, was that their variety is somewhat limited.

Sure you can buy a Daddy Pig or a Mummy Pig t-shirt but where are the Granny Pig and Grandpa Pig t-shirts?

Opportunity missed.

Where are the t-shirts and socks emblazoned with characters like Danny Dog, Pedro Pony or Candy Cat? What if your child prefers Emily Elephant to Peppa and George? Where are those items?

Opportunity missed.

It got me thinking. What if someone out there wanted to read one of my books but doesn’t own a Kindle? At the moment they would be out of luck.

Opportunity missed?

Well not for much longer.

That’s because, as of 01 August 2013, my novels Integration, Remorse, Redemption, Snatched and Shadow Line will be available to download on the B&N Nook, the Kobo and through the iBookstore. They will still be on Kindle and in paperback through Amazon, so don’t fret. The cost of the digital copies of my works? £1.99 on each of the platforms, so nobody will be disadvantaged.

Give the people what they want!

I am moving with the times and would strongly encourage my fellow indie writers to follow my lead. Who knows, maybe they will sell Mark Baines toothbrushes one day?

Until the next time, happy reading.

Stephen

Stephen is the author of Integration, Remorse, Redemption, Snatched and Shadow Line. Find his work here or via stephenedger.com)

Leave a Reply

