Blog on the Bus pt 48 (sun, sun, sun)

Good morning all. I hope you are making the most of the glorious sunshine and the mini heat wave we appear to be experiencing. I appreciate it’s getting to the point where we want to start complaining that “it’s too hot” and that we “wish it was cold again” but resist that urge and declare from the hills “it’s pretty good for England!

Let’s not forget that usually at this time of year it’s pissing down with rain (think of all those rainy Wimbledon interruptions down the years). But for once we are getting the summer of sun we deserve.

Don’t get me wrong, I felt rotten yesterday, with a persistent headache that just wouldn’t dissipate, having spent the entire day in the sun on Sunday. But what’s a bit of sun stroke right? I’m sure things will be better today!

As a writer who is required to spend at least 2 hours per day in doors, hunched over a computer (typing you understand, not surfing), it is hard to maintain discipline. It would be far easier to bin it off and go and sunbathe but then I wouldn’t get anything written! If anything, this glorious weather is a good test of my writing discipline: if I can continue to type with this kind of distraction, I can beat anything!

Incidentally, for those with an interest (I’m sure you all are), the new writing project is up and running with 10k words on the digital page. How many of them are any good or in the right order is anyone’s guess, but they’re there.

I’ll go now and let you get on with topping up your tan. Alas, for me, my pasty white skin either remains milky or turns a bright shade of crimson, so it’s probably safer to bash away at those keys.

Until the next time, happy reading!

Stephen is the author of Integration, Remorse, Redemption, Snatched and Shadow Line. Find his work here or via stephenedger.com)

One response to “Blog on the Bus pt 48 (sun, sun, sun)

  1. Words on discs, paper whatever are great. You can arrange them later. I remember one hot summer from when I lived in England as a child back in the 50’s. I loved it. The tar bubbled on the road, old people complained, most people looked skywards waiting for the rain to ruin it all. Then I remember 41 days of rain, both stand out. Keep blogging on the bus Stephen.

Leave a Reply

