Blog on the Bus pt 53 (what’s the story, morning glory?)

Good day to you bus blog beneficiaries. You’ll be pleased to hear there are plenty of spare seats on the bus this morning so we shouldn’t be disturbed. I’m also pleased to say that the bus was on time this morning, which I always see as a positive portent of a wonderful week to come (try saying that after a couple of pints!)

I’m guessing you’re wondering the meaning of today’s blog title? I know I’m not in the habit of quoting from the brothers-Gallagher when I undertake my bus-blathering, but there’s a good reason today.

Most writer-wannabes will reach a point in the prose-preparing-process (my tongue is starting to ache; it’s twisted so much) where they have to choose a title for their project. Some will have a title from the outset and stand by it even as the plot develops. Others will refuse to even think of a title until they have typed the final full stop. Some will even be struck by a flash bolt of inspiration midway through a project. When the inspiration comes doesn’t really matter so long as it comes. Alas, for some the inspiration doesn’t come…

This brings me back to Noel and Liam’s effort. What’s the story, morning glory? is a great song and I will confess to being a bit of an Oasis-officianado. I’m a big fan of their music and listening to their albums brings back good memories. That said, I don’t like a number of the titles to their songs as they are nonsensical!

It’s a pet hate of mine when those creative types come up with utter tosh and claim that those who don’t like them ‘just don’t get it!’

I’m sorry, but what’s a wonderwall anyway?

It’s the same in books and movies. Why spend so long developing a project title if you end up alienating potential consumers because we ‘just don’t get it!’ I mean, Stephen King’s IT had absolutely nothing to do with computers! As for Snakes on a Plane, don’t even get me started!!!

What is the answer, then? It’s easy really: choose a title that people will understand, which links to the plot of the book whilst maintaining an air of mystery.

Easy, right?

Okay, well maybe not but that should be the aim.

I had a working title when I commenced the current project but I knew from the outset it wouldn’t remain. I then came up with a second title that I hoped would grow on me but it just wasn’t right. This week that imaginary flash bolt struck and the perfect title dawned. I won’t tell you what it is until nearer publication but I can assure you it meets the required criteria listed above.

I can confirm that the project will not be called ‘Vichyssoise: the Temptation of Remembering the Green Cross Code‘ which would be ridiculous!

Until next time, happy reading!

Stephen

P.S. feel free to plagiarise the ‘Vichyssoise…’ title.

(Stephen is the author of Integration, Remorse, Redemption, Snatched and Shadow Line. Find his work here or via stephenedger.com)

Leave a Reply

