Blog on the Bus pt 54 (should I rename the blog to “talk on the train”?)

Bonsoir dear bus bloggers,

Today’s blog finds yours truly aboard a train on my way back from the Big Smoke (a.k.a. the City a.k.a. Landaan town) for today was my first day in a new job. I can’t tell you what I’m now doing as it’s top secret (very hush-hush, wink-wink-nudge-nudge) but it does require the treacherous train trail to our nation’s capital.

Said journey is approximately 3hrs door-to-door and starts with a 5 a.m. alarm call. Hopefully you can begin to appreciate just how knackered I feel as the trundling train traverses the tracks to the terrace (I live in a terraced house and couldn’t think of another word for home beginning with a “t”). For those of you who’ve never made it to London, I thought I’d share what I’ve learned today:

1. Train stations are lonely places at 06.30 in the morning.
It’s true, nobody talks to one another. I tried to initiate a couple of conversations but got the strangest looks (it seems no-one wanted to know about my published works – hard to believe I know!). Eventually the Guard asked me to either be quiet or to leave.

2. An hour and a half in the ‘Quiet Zone’ is time well spent.
I recently purchased one of those Windows tablets so that I would be able to continue my early-morning-pre-work-typing sessions that have served me so well for so long. Today I managed to type 1800 words of the current work in progress. Not much left to write for draft-1 which makes me very happy.

3. There are TOO many people in London
This isn’t so much a complaint as an observation. In the building I’ve been in all day (remember, I can’t reveal its location without taking a contract out on you) there were so many people who didn’t know me but didn’t seem to even flutter an eyelid in my direction. It was quite a change from what I’m used to.

4. Tubes are hot places when they’re full of people and stopped in a tunnel
Alas this is true and something I’m going to have to get used to. Despite growing up in London I still anticipate the tube to be crawling with Fagin’s Artful Dodger(s) and so I spent the journey covering every orifice from prying hands. I survived (I think!)

5. It’s not as bad as some people make out
New York, without doubt, is my absolute favourite city and I would happily move my mini-family there if the opportunity arose. That said, I think London gets an unwarranted bad reputation and needs to be given a chance. Of course my view may change as the weeks progress but right now it seems pretty good.

So, what have I learned from my first day in London? It’s not so bad but it takes some getting used to.

This journey is going to become more regular so I am proposing (NOT marriage) to change the name of this blog to the “talk of the train” but am putting the proposal out to YOU (my followers and digital-friends) to make the decision for me (“delegation is the key to great management” according to my new boss). Let me know if the name should change and I’ll oblige.

Anyway, that’s enough from me (he said, stifling a yawn), I’m off to bed in a minute to do it all again tomorrow!

Until the next time, happy reading!

Stephen

(Stephen is the author of Integration, Remorse, Redemption, Snatched and Shadow Line. Find his work here, here or via stephenedger.com)

2 responses to “Blog on the Bus pt 54 (should I rename the blog to “talk on the train”?)

Leave a Reply

